top of page
Search

Where can you learn about Tantra?

You can begin your Tantra journey in books and on the internet. This will give you a general idea of what it is. However to understand it, you have to experience it. Tantra affects the deeper layers of the psyche, of the soul. It cannot be so readily explained verbally.


My first Tantra retreat was at the Agama Center in Thailand. The week-long course was composed mostly of lectures. The information was fascinating and gave me a proper foundation of knowledge. However I was left wanting to experience Tantra through my senses rather than through my mind.


My next Tantra retreat was all exercises and little to no lectures. It affected me on a deep level, opening up my heart, and connecting me to myself and others on a deep level. This was what I had been looking for.


You can find Tantra day, weekend or week-long retreats. Some last as long as one month. Starting small is a good idea, especially if you don't know anything about the teacher. Do some research, ask around.


Tantra has a reputation of being about sexuality. It is a part of Tantra, yes, but there is much more to it. Accordingly some retreats and classes focus solely on the sexual aspect, especially what is called Neo Tantra. There is a lot to be learned from these courses as well, but be aware of what you are signing up for. Most beginner Tantra courses involve no nudity.


Tantra is quite in vogue at the moment. There are so many courses available, it can be challenging to find the right one for you.


If France is a possible summer destination for you, I can recommend this retreat center: www.sadhaka.nl I have been working there for the past two summers as a resident photographer. They offer all kinds of great Tantra courses, as well as art, yoga, and other spirituality-based ones. It is set in beautiful nature, away from cities, noise... The vibe there is peaceful, friendly, and accepting.


I will feature other retreats in future posts. Enjoy the journey.


bottom of page