top of page
Search

What is Tantra and where does it come from?

The fact is Tantra in today's day and age equates to sex for the majority of people in the West. In India, where it originated, it equates to black magic.

What is it actually? Well Tantra has taken on many forms since it has arrived in the West in the past century. For some, it is spiritual sexuality. For others, it is a spiritual path that encompasses emotional and spiritual development. I do not oppose any views. Mine is constantly evolving. Certainly it represents much more than spiritual sexuality for me, but I feel I can still learn from those who view it primarily as such.


I will present differing views so that readers can make up their own minds, or simply like me learn from everyone. Many who view Tantra as a spiritual path disregard Neo-Tantra for example as it focuses mainly on sexual practices.


Here is a link to an excellent article explaining more about Tantra by a renowned and respected Tantra teacher, Sarita, who has been on this spiritual path since her teens. She lived in India with Osho, her teacher, for many years.


http://www.tantra-essence.com/learning-tantra/what-is-tantra/


bottom of page